Pin on Pinterest
2017 TI STEM Fellows Steven Murray, Luis Araiza, David McLoda, Caitlin Hull, Chenay Taylor, Marcelo Migoni

Six Dallas ISD teachers were recognized during a special event on Sept. 20 as 2017 Texas Instruments STEM Fellows, each receiving a $10,000 prize as part of the honor.

This year's TI STEM Fellows are:

  • Marcelo Migoni, science teacher at Raul Quintanilla Sr. Middle School
  • Luis Araiza, math teacher at Irma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School
  • Steven Murray, math teacher at William B. Travis Vanguard/Academy for the Academically Talented and Gifted
  • Caitlin Hull, science teacher at Bryan Adams High School
  • David McLoda, robotics and science teacher at the School of Science and Engineering Magnet
  • Chenay Taylor, math teacher at Skyline High School

This is the 11th year of the TI STEM Fellows program. To date, $1.6 million has been awarded to STEM teachers in six Dallas-area districts. Eighty-four winners who have received a total of $864,000 are from Dallas ISD.

The $10,000 prize includes $5,000 for professional development/technological classroom enhancement, and $5,000 as a personal reward.

To qualify for the TI award, a Dallas ISD STEM teacher must be eligible to become a Distinguished teacher, be nominated by their principal, complete an application and be observed by central staff members who are experts in the specific content areas.